Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Scissors for a Brush

Yesterday while discussing Mary Delaney's cut out flower mosaiks, we also talked about an exhibition here in town at the Nordic Museum. Mary Delaney learned to use scissors at a very young age, making black silhouettes. Cutting out paper is an ancient art began in China 2000 years ago. So after my Tai chi class, near this museum, I went to see Danish/Norwegian Karen Bit Vejle's amazing pieces. It was not easy to photograph but I think you can get the idea- this is a very large piece the making of which seems unbelievable to me ! I'm going to link the museum with info about this exhibit, there is a link on the page for a 36 page catalogue of all the pieces including a big description about this one which is pretty interesting- IF you are interested. Nordic museum.
The museum had some patterns and paper so anyone could try to cut out a pattern. Oh my, new appreciation for the skill required for this art!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.