Come into the Garden

By aprecious

Trust me...

What do you mean you're not that kind of Doctor?

I've been beavering away making this celebration nurse's hat most of the night. You appreciate it? That's big of you Dr Precious!

I was going to buy a stethoscope. I would have liked a stethoscope - I could have tried it out on Pud. See if he actually has a heart. Can I still have one?

And now you've made me look silly in front of all these people... Anyway, what does a Doctor of Philosophy actually do?



It's a very good question. Yesterday I snuck off to the University and had my viva - which, for those who don't know, is the oral exam that completes the examining process for a PhD. I spent a lot of time preparing for it, but I was still rubbish. And I mean really - no false modesty here. I am so much better on paper. It was ever thus. Fortunately, I had two absolutely lovely academics as examiners who were very kind to me. It lasted just shy of an hour. And my PhD thesis passed with minor corrections which I will be working on and complete in the next month or so.

This means that I am now officially Dr Precious. All feels a bit surreal to be honest. And oddly anti-climatic - not in a bad way just in a blowing out the cheeks sort of phew kind of way. Of course, I am deliriously happy. But, I began studying for an MA (which preceded my PhD) just after my 40th birthday, and in four months I will be 48. Throughout that period, I have also worked full time. That's a lot of weekends given up to studying, writing and re-writing. A lot of holidays reading and re-reading. I'm glad I've done it but I'm especially glad I don't have to do it again.

I've some amazing people around me - particularly Snotty - who have given me absolute love and unconditional support. But tons of friends and family (I know you're reading this dad!) too - who have been patient and supportive and forgiven me when I have been absent at parties and gatherings.

Finally, I discovered Blipfoto after I'd written up just two chapters. I think having this outlet - particularly the laugh and the banter - has been absolutely invaluable. So thanks to you too.

And today? I had decided in advance that a day off would be in order so for once I am going to use up some TOIL. I am going to take a bus into Manchester. Then, I'll sit around a table with 3 ex-colleagues and have some lunch and I'm going to raise a glass (or two) to our friend Trish who died last year. And reflect that she would be so pleased. So too am I.

Look, I've gone on a bit. Promise I'll keep it short for the 365!


Getting it wrong. Maud, it could have been so much worse. Rodney and Delboy make their entrance at a wake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.