Two Kiwis and a Sparrow

Here we are in the backyard again, looking at the morning's crop of birds. The Merlin sound app identified Pine Siskins, and my neighbor said, yes, they're back. Siskins appear to be very stripey in all the guides, so I don't think this is the guy who was doing all the singing. Even I can tell there are several different kinds of little birds hopping around--I just can't tell one from another.  We got a quick heavy dump of very cold rain while I was making these photos--not enough to make a difference in the drought, but rain is rain and we need every drop. The birds didn't find shelter, so they must have known it was a fleeting shower.

In the sunny afternoon we went to a couple of local galleries. This caught my eye--small mono abstract paintings with bright hand stitched embellishments and torn deckled edges: what wonderful texture and contrasts! It was pleasant to be out and doing something in town--a small outing, but welcome. Masks were required in the galleries, but no one seems to be wearing them in the street anymore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.