Church Still Standing

I'm not a church-goer, but joined a Ukrainian Mass today at Protection BVM Ukrainian Catholic Church.  I counted 16 people plus the priest and myself.  I don't know how they keep it going.  Many of the ethnic churches in the Cleveland area closed and/or combined.  I was told that as Ukrainian churches get smaller in the north part of the U.S., some are opening or growing in the south.  The churches on the west side of Cleveland in Parma are very large because of the big Ukrainian community there. 

Anyway, I decided standing beside Ukrainians and being present was one way I could help, or at least feel like I was helping. 

The church was ornate and beautiful.  The people were friendly.  I think I was the youngest there, aside from the priest, who was born in Ukraine and very humble.  I may go back to help make pierogies for fundraisers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.