paperTIGER

By papertiger

Time flies.

I am confused by life, and I feel safe within the confines of the theatre.

-- Helen Hayes


Today I had a great day.

The morning was taken up by a script read-through in the Rehearsal Room for our upcoming production of Tom McGrath's Kora, which tells the story of a group of people fighting for better living and housing conditions in 1980's Dundee.

Then in the afternoon I saw a gorgeous dance performance by Scottish Dance Theatre for 0-7 year olds. It was a socks and shoes off, barefoot affair. I was quickly befriended by a little red-headed girl who can't have been more than 18 months. She was fascinated by my dangly earrings and we spent a good while flicking them, until I had to take them out for fear she might actually rip my earlobes right off. She played with them, then she happily gave them back, and then we danced a bit, sang a bit; rolled around a bit. The children built trees, hid from a tiger, and travelled around the room by virtue of jumping from leaf to leaf, as you do!

Then ... I went and did some actual, proper work.

I tell you, life can be confusing sometimes, and I felt sorry for anyone who didn't venture through our doors today and share in that total treat.

After work, I had some tea with my pal - he was celebrating his 2 year anniversary with the company, and I was celebrating my 1 year.

Some days I feel right lucky!

This photo is best viewed BIG ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.