and through the wire...

By hesscat

The Grotto

I realised yesterday I may never have blipped the Grotto at Arniston, so I thought I would give it the #bridgesofarniston treatment.

I only realised this when I looked it up, a grotto is a natural or artificial cave used by humans. This grotto overlooks the glen which has a wide range of trees and plants planted hundreds of years ago which has been left to look after itself - it must have looked splendid in the day. It is suggested the grotto has been built using stones from Parliament House in Edinburgh. there's a tunnel that leads to the House.

In the front arch theres a carving "1644" (although it is suspected it was built in the 1800s) and "QUID SIS QUID FUER IS SEMPER MEDITERUS OMNEM CREDE DIE TIBI DILUXISSE SUPREMUM" and the rear has "HELITEBINE DULCES ETIAM SI CREDIS AMOENAE" which google translates to me:

WHY ARE YOU WHY YOU'VE BEEN ALWAYS MID BELIEVE EVERY DAY YOU LOVED THE LAST TIME

and 

HELITEBINE SWEET EVEN IF YOU BELIEVE PLEASANT

Hmmmm... ok grotto, I've done my best for you.

Grotto, Arniston House.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.