Lichen

Nipped to Burray to buy cake!  It's a good few miles but my friend is baking them to raise money for Ukraine. I got carrot and walnut ones and they came with high recommendations. 

Seeing as we were already out and about, I decided to go to the beach on the east side. Lottie and I both had a run along the sand and then a gentle wander round the kirkyard. The Kirk is no longer consecrated but the cemetery is still in use and has been greatly extended recently. 

So many people I have known are there. Also well known family names and farm and house names too. Fascinating to read them and see the different styles, the wording, the biblical quotations or lines from a poem, the way they have been engraved. Amid many flowery verses, there is one which simply says at the bottom " A lovely man". 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.