Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Breitenbush Hot Springs, Day 3

Backblip.

By Day 3 of Breitenbush retreats, I'm completely blissed out. The food is extraordinary (vegetarian, organic, lovingly prepared), the meditation sessions and dharma talks are nourishing and profound, the people I'm in community with are gentle souls with open hearts.

I was able to use my scooter on the grounds to get to a lot of places, though not my "special" spots I used to love to go. When I was in the Sanctuary I spotted this oddity behind the building. I had to get a closer look, so got as close as I could with my scooter, then hobbled up near it, though not close enough to touch. I was so intrigued by this beautiful ... fungus? artwork? sculpture? It looked organic, but those eyes! I took several photos of it and asked some of the staff on the land, but no one had even seen it, let alone knew what it was.

I emailed the retreat center when I got home and this is the response I got: I have checked around with some of the people who have been here for a long time. What I found out is that it has been there for a long time perhaps 15-20 years. No one knew the exact origin, "perhaps a guest offered it". Evidently it is a ceramic piece of an owl. Wonderful picture! Thanks!! Tom

Before I left for Breitenbush, it was suggested that I would find an owl to act as my spirit guide. I am a believer!

Day One.
Day Two.
Google album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.