Garden With Teahouse

On This Day In History
1968: Vietnamese villagers killed by U.S. soldiers in My Lai Massacre

Quote Of The Day
"I would say that most people in our company didn't consider the Vietnamese human ..... A guy would just grab one of the girls there and in one or two incidents they shot the girls when they got done."
(Dennis M. Burning, American private)

Bonus Quote Of The Day
“I can only say what I myself have learned: that life's purpose is to grow. We have time in abundance- an enternity, in fact- to repeat our mistakes. We only need to correct them once, however- to learn our lesson and hear the song of enlightenment- to break the chain of vengeance forever. If we can do this personally, no matter how many others follow, our hearts will at least find peace.”
(Le Ly Hayslip)

Rather than focus on the horror inflicted on innocent Vietnamese villagers by William Calley and the monsters under his command, I thought I would rather immerse myself in the beauty of Asian culture and nature, and reflect on how fortunate I am to have had the honour of meeting one of my heroes; Le Ly Hayslip. So I took a hike to the top of Kabutoyama. I ate my picnic lunch in Kabutoyama Forest Park. A perfect day. 

Heaven And Earth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.