Common tern

Having been away for four days, I was keen to see whether there were any changes along the river. The cold weather has kept everything pretty much the same, but today the breeze was mild and for the first time this spring there was a chorus of bird-song, rather than one or two half-hearted attempts. I also saw several queen bumble bees, obviously brought out of hibernation by the increased temperature.

The only new species to have returned to the area is the common tern. I watched one fishing in the river backwater, and it then went to rest on one of the buoys in the Rowing Lake. I briefly saw another fly over, but I don't know whether they're a pair. I don't think this species has been added to the BlipBigYear list, so I had to blip it today.

Our break in East Yorkshire was bracing to say the least, though we did have an afternoon of spring-like sunshine on Wednesday. I had hoped to blip from the cottage, but the area where we were staying appeared to be an electronic black hole, with very limited mobile phone cover and no WiFi. So once I've organised myself I will be back-blipping...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.