Wood Anemone

Another beautiful spring day. Having sent off a couple of reports, I treated myself to some botanical recording just over the border in South Lincolnshire in the afternoon. My target was a countryside monad with only three species recorded - after an hour or so along the verges I'd found over a hundred species including a large colony of Stone Parsley which seems to be spreading enormously at the moment.

I then dropped into one of my favourite local churchyards, St Michaels and All Angels at Uffington. This has a wonderful display of Snowdrops which are followed by an equally good showing of daffodils and various shades of Primrose. Surprisingly this churchyard also has species usually characteristic of ancient woodland, including Wood Anemone, Bluebell, Barren Strawberry and Goldilocks. The Wood Anemone were in full bloom, a stark contrast with Old Sulehay last weekend, when I couldn't find a single flower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.