pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

WHITE HERON (Kotuku) egretta Alba

It might look as though this White heron ( who I've been having a close encounter with for a few days !) is 'decamping the scene' - but in fact he was performing a/this ceremonial dance to frighten his prey. I ( along with another professional photographer ) watched the heron for over an hour perform this wing flapping and then pick up the proceeds of his effort. I had pictures of him with prey in his mouth - but I did that a day or so ago. so I thought I would show the prancing action - his pre-meal ceremony.

Many thanks for all the kind comments from yesterdays blip -showing the apparent wintering over of the Monarch butterflies. sorry I didnt have the time to answer everyone.

when Iwas watching this handsome bird - I thought how far removed its actions were in compared to the actions of the despots of the world.
My thoughts are with the people of North Korea ! I dont normally get political here on blip - but wouldnt it be fantastic for some humans to spend time watching something like this rather than watching bombs fly about !!!

maybe thats a silly simplistic thought ???

rgds poo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.