A True Story

Mission: Photographic surveillance of Garcia's Mexican Restaurant, Eagle River, Alaska.


We were conducting routine photographic protocols. The restaurant was quite busy, see here.

Suddenly, the restaurant proprietor affronted us.

"Are you taking pictures?" he inquired.

"There are federal employees here!" he snorted. ('Federal employees' is code speak for 'secret agents'.)

"And why do you have that camera, anyway?" he again inquired.

I innocently began to tell the proprietor that we were Blipfoto journalists on assignment.

He shrieked, "Blipfoto! Blipfoto!" The crowd was alarmed. Chairs and tables screeched with movement and bodies bolted.

A struggle for my camera ensued, see here.

By the time I had recovered and secured my camera, the restaurant was evacuated, as you can see in the picture above.

We left the establishment, fearful of reprisal. As we drove away I kept my eye on the rearview mirror. We doubled back a couple of times to assure that we were not being followed, mindful to protect our safe house location at Nancy Lake.

So far, we have evaded detection from potential pursuers. I tell you all of this so that if I do not post tomorrow, you will take the necessary steps to find me.



A True Story from Garcia's Mexican Restaurant, Eagle River, Alaska

View the struggle location on Google Maps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.