Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

       I'm on a reading binge. Four parts non-fiction; two parts fiction.

       Three memoirs of immigrants, civil servants, individuals of outstanding integrity who just happened to testify at President Trump's first impeachment hearings.

       I have pondered the nuances of Fiona Hill's title; the jacket photo is quite provocative to my mind too.

       Simon Critchley is a professor of philosophy and Tragedy, The Greeks, and Us  is leading me to reread some of the plays of Aeschylus, Euripides (no jokes please), and Sophocles.

       Louise Erdrich writes about the Native Amerindian experience in most of her novels. She is a member of Turtle Mountains band of Chippewa.

       Alan Furst is my light reading for grown ups. He writes fun novels set in Europe during time of war  . . . What I've read so far reminds me of W.E. Johns Biggles and Gimlet books written under the pen name Capt. H. E. Johns . . . but that's just a fancy of mine as it's been sixty years since I read some of those adventures.




79/365

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.