pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Tough crowd

A slightly fragmented day today, where I seemed to do a lot without actually moving forward.

Guitars for school were forgotten and subsequently dropped off, there was a delightful exchange with one of B&Q’s finest as I stood there at their paint counter in their paint aisle clutching paint tester cards and a paint order only to be asked “you want some paint, mate?”

He didn’t seem like the person who would take kindly to the initial response which flashed through my head, which was “no, I’m here for the Indian head massage and fish pedicure. Where them Garra rufa at?”

I’m English, so I just smiled and apologising for my presence and custom, merely said “Sorry! Yes, please!”

The paint in question is now starting to be applied to its intended target and I am delighted with the results so far. Even the decorator admitted it was a nice colour (he would be the first to tell me if it wasn’t) and has made a great start already.

He painted whilst I did a little extra wallpaper stripping at the plasterers request as he needs to do some “feathering”. I told him that despite what he may have heard, this wasn’t that kind of house and that sort of behaviour belonged in the next street over.

He half smiled as he moved past and told me that he "best be cracking on"…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.