Mute Swan

It's been quite a while since I visited the Duntreath Ponds. Last year's three cygnets have left for pastures new and the two adults were looking very glamorous in the sunshine. They are clearly used to being fed as they make a beeline for anyone walking by and pose obligingly close to the shore. I like the drops of water on this one. I hope they have another successful breeding season. The first extra has some great reflections.

The second extra is a follow up from yesterday's Blip. Clearly I wasn't the only one unable to make a positive identification of my wee green bird, or burd as we say in Scotland. I am wondering if the female chaffinch which appeared on the same branch was indeed the same bird. The collage shows the chaffinch feeding on the ground, looking a bit greenish, the white bars on the wing seem the same. Perhaps the green shot was just a trick of the light??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.