analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

A Surprise from 1991! Leica M2, Summaron 35mm

Some years ago I treated myself to a rather nice slide and negative scanner, which has helped bring many family photographs captured on film into the digital age.
I was going through a packet of color prints from a trip to South Africa in 1991, looking for the negatives of specific photos to scan.  Then I spotted this portrait of a dear friend of nearly 50 years.  I don't remember taking it, or ever having seen the print.  My only conclusion is that when the film was processed and prints made, this one was never printed. 
A and I have traveled a lot of miles together during those decades past, in South Africa when we were students there in the late '70s and early '80s, in Europe and in the U.S.  In 1991, we took the famous Blue Train from Cape Town to Johannesburg - a once-in-a-lifetime experience when it was almost affordable -, rented a car and drove to the Kruger National Park for a week with the animals.  Our ritual in those days was always to start the morning with a cup of coffee and a couple of South Africa's iconic Ouma's Rusks.  Then off to a strenuous day watching and photographing the beasts in their habitat.  For a little explanation of Ouma's, I did a Google search, and, unsurprisingly, there's a Wiki entry!  Here's the link, and here's the portrait.  You might ask how I know which lens I used when I don't remember the photograph.  The truth is, I can tell from the lens' unique optical signature, and the perspective - and that's the wide angle lens I had then, and still do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.