21...again?

As the band were setting up, the superheroes, lawyers, members of the emergency services, characters from films, vampires, chefs, Tintin and Snowy all chatted, laughed, shouted and sang Happy Birthday. 21...seems a long time ago now...
Yet there was something old about these "kids", something mature, sensible. Almost as if they'd been here before. There seemed to be less innocence, less wonder, less of a sense of newness - more a sense of old hat.
The youth of today...are they really that different from the youth of yesterday? People will argue that they aren't...yet this sense of them being old hat challenges that. Is it a shame therefore that they are sheltered, not allowed to make mistakes, guided and watched? Or in actual fact are they just more together, cooler, sorted?
I'd like to think that I've moved on from the 21 year old self I once was...I'd like to think I'd learned from experiences good and bad...I'd like to think that I have advice to offer the youth of today...but...
Deep down I'm still a kid, and to honest, I wouldn't want it any other way.

That is all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.