Bumblesnaps

By Beewatcher

Col/Sgt, , RND

Talking recently to an old soldier who'd served in Burma in WWII reminded me of my own family connection to the forces.
My parents met in the war,as volunteers in the RAF/WAAF,and I had an uncle serving in each of the three services. They all survived,but two more distant relatives,both young men,gave their lives in the Fleet Air Arm and Bomber Command.
My great-grandfather,a retired Royal Marine,was called up at the beginning of the Great War,and saw service in Belgium. He was captured,and sent to sit out the rest of the war in an internment camp in Holland.
Obviously he didn't think much of this,for he escaped,rolled up in a carpet,and somehow made his way back to Britain.
Back in active service,in 1915 he was sent to Gallipoli,where he was seconded to an ANZAC unit. This was a source of great pride to me when I discovered it last year.I've always been fascinated by Australia and New Zealand.
He survived the war and returned to his peacetime job,as steward of a golf course in Cornwall.
This is him,and his Mons Star. I wish I'd known him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.