A part of the story missing....

As I was driving along the Shore road on way to Kirn this afternoon I noticed further up the Clyde  water being sprayed into two huge arcs - the sort of greeting that you see on documentaries for big ships being  launched or arriving in new places. 

Given it was probably taking place  around the mouth of Loch Long, which would mean that there might be a military significance though I couldn't see a submarine , which was my first thought. 

I managed after a few minutes to find somewhere safe to park but by the time I was out of the car with my camera the water was no longer being sprayed up the way, but along the surface.   The haze  on the water because of the sun (not something you can say often here) also made focusing difficult. 

There seemed to be two tugs - one spraying and one coming along the firth, towards the sea.   There was also a wee lobster boat and the Dunoon / Gourock ferry  though I suspect they were in some of the shots I got because of the angle I was at - I doubt if they were involved.   

Anyway I have no idea what it was all about, but I always like a blip which just takes advantage of something seen, with the story left hanging - perhaps to be filled in by another blipper....?   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.