Collared Dove (juvenile)

Today is the third anniversary of the move into our home. To celebrate we went for a walk in the late morning. I took loads of pictures but none were exciting. As usual the red kites were taunting me, one appeared very low (being mobbed by a crow) but I couldn't get a decent shot of it.

Both Percy and Pierre were in the garden when we got home and I got some more pictures of peacocks pressed up against the glass of the windows looking in. For a change I decided not to go with a peacock picture today.

Today's blip is a young Collared Dove (Streptopelia decaocto) that was sitting on a wall. I don't think it has full flight feathers as it didn't try to fly away when I got close enough to take this picture. If you believe Wikipedia they show little fear of humans so it's not that unusual to get close. The feathers look best large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.