I ALWAYS LISTEN

to my inner voice. But it was a bit of a surprise that it told me when I went from Madestein to the Uithof that after seeing the swans (7 in the big pool) and the stork pair to cycle to Wateringen and visit the city farm there.
When I arrived there the farm was still closed but a minute later it was obvious that the gates were to be opened and I was the first visitor. The day had started with rain and dark sky but the clouds were soft grey and it was not too cold.
The peacock wandered in the field and the two peacock hen ladies sat together on a fench.
I walked around, saw that the two ostrich were still there, the big black and white pig, the pony and manu other animals. Coming back to the fenced field I saw that the peacock had his feathers out and waving with them.
I still wonder how my inner voice could have knowledge of this scene, but it has happened before and I am thankful for it.
To my luck Mischa and Piet Hein helped to select the pictures.
In the afternoon Mischa and I walked through the Meer en Bos Park towards the dunes and the sea. And suddenly it was warm, very warm weather and that winter coat has to disappear from now on.

My haiku:

The peahens did not
Bothered to be impressed by
The show but I was

And the proverb:

The peacock hath fair feathers but foul feet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.