Robert Ostrochovsky

By youoregon1

Life’’ll Kill Ya

You've got an invalid haircut
It hurts when you smile
You'd better get out of town
Before your nickname expires
It's the kingdom of the spiders
It's the empire of the ants
You need a permit to walk around downtown
You need a license to dance

Life'll kill ya
That's what I said
Life'll kill ya
Then you'll be dead
Life'll find ya
Wherever you go
Requiescat in pace
That's all she wrote


~Waren Zevon*


Two of the last Warren Zevon albums were written while he was in the beginning of his cancer stages and /or after his diagnosis. His lyrics are acerbically poignant and have helped me deal with my own recent diagnosis go glioblastoma and brain surgery which initially endowed with with a rather distinctive tiara car across my head. The vulgar "My shit*'s fu**ed up" puts my situation in point blank perspective, I said, 
"my sh*t's fucked up?"Well, I don't see how-"
You see son, "The sh*t that used to work-
......it won't work now."


So life has slowed down considerably, and Layne has been rolling out the Michelin 5 care plan. And it is a miracle here on Portuguese street.  
After one week out of the hospital and the desire to not be a volunteer*, I decided to opt of chemo and radiation treatment. That paperwork was harder than signing up for it.


Through other channels, Ingeborg found out about my situation and referenced my connection to Abstract Thursday in her latest post, Many thanks to her for her kind words.


Today's photo is the orchid that was getting too much sun in the kitchen and was placed in my sloth habitat. Rest is my new found hobby.


While frustrations will no doubt be plentiful in the days ahead, A sure-fire tear soaked Warren song that has been helping me is  Keep me in your heart for a while
"if I leave you it doesn't mean I love you any less
Keep me in your heart for a while"


My apologies to those who have first hand or familial experience with this cancer, or if the language implied here is offensive. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.