GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

Star of David

A Star of David is a strange symbol to see daubed on a wall in the Gaza Strip. This photograph is taken on Beach Road, one of the biggest streets in Gaza City.

I don't know who painted the symbol, and I can't even speculate. However, I do know that, during the ground invasion of 'Operation Cast Lead' in early 2009, Israeli soldiers left their mark on the walls of many public buildings and civilian homes.

During my first month in Gaza, I visited a farmer who lives near the border in the north. He told me of his family's experience during the offensive four years ago. They fled their home in fear of their lives, and later returned to find their trees and gardens destroyed and abusive messages scrawled across the walls inside the family home.

He also told me the tragic and horrific story of a neighbouring woman whose children were shot dead on the road as they tried to escape. She could not carry them with her, and left them where they lay. By the time she was able to return to her home, dogs had savaged their little bodies.

I hope, one day, that this symbol will no longer represent such suffering for Palestinians. I hope, one day, not too far in the future, the Star of David of Judaism, the crescent moon of Islam, and the cross of Christianity will carry the only meaning that they should - one of peace, love, faith, and tolerance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.