WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Local colour

Backblipped. We wasted no time in catching up on live music today -- to the Centre Culturel to see Loïc Lantoine and Le Very Big Experimental Toubifri Orchestra, which was as mad as it sounds. But first, dinner from the Thai food truck and musical ambiance from the Fanfare du Minervois, previously seen here.

As for Toubifri: 18 musicians and a lot of brass. They are very loud -- the chap next to me excused himself during the third number, saying "Too loud for me!" and dashed outside. To be fair there were quiet bits too -- this video is quite representative. I wasn't sure whether I liked them or not -- ironically I found Loïc Lantoine's vocals and spoken poetry quite distracting and would have enjoyed it more without. S said they would be better outdoors where people could move around and he was right -- it's festive music that's just not the same crammed into theatre seats. In any case they were excellent musicians -- they had to be to play such organised cacophony without a conductor.

S was up early to check out a walk he's leading in the Pyrenees on Saturday. It was a lovely day, so in the morning I went to the market in Lézignan. Bruno the Peugeot, abandoned on the square for three months, leapt smartly into life when I turned the key. What a hero he is! The market was surprisingly busy, so hopefully it's recovering from the combined effect of changing location and Covid. I bought a chicken, so roast chicken with all the trimmings for lunch on Thursday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.