World at Rest/World in Motion

The big draw at the Barrens these days is the vernal pools, which are full to the brim with water and chock full of amazing amphibian eggs, and reflections. "I'm only going up to the first pond," I lied to my husband, as I left the house.

Of COURSE, I knew that the peeper sounds would be my siren song, and that I would visit several of the ponds! "Can you be home by noon?" he asked, as he was already thinking of lunch. Yes, I could, I said; and then off I flew to the Barrens, on my fleet feet! (But what happens, honey, if I come across a newt that I need to fondle? Or several? Hmm? What about THAT!??)

The day started out a little drippy, and so I had my umbrella. It was just a bit beyond drizzle, and I didn't want to get the camera wet. At the first pond, the reflections were amazing. There were raindrops but I saw no actual frogs.

At the bigger pond, further up the trail, the surface is already covered in tiny green plants of some kind. I came across two newts, very healthy looking critters; one at one end of the pond, the other at the other end. They sashayed along with their spots gleaming. Is there anything more full of swagger than a newt in the springtime, heading to or from a vernal pool? (Newt Swagger just HAS to be a good name for SOMEthing. A rock band?)

The porcupine tree along the edge of the bigger pond is very stinky these days, and I looked by my feet, and inside the tree, to discover fresh, green, smelly excrement. I have never met the porcupine who lives there; would s/he be in the tree, or out and about, during the day?

I heard an extra-loud peeper hailing from along the back edge of the pond, and I went in hot pursuit, only to come up empty-handed. Those are sneaky little suckers, very good at hiding from nosy, busy-body photographers! (Peeper: Why, look, it's the paparazzi again! Everybody HIDE!!!)

And then I checked the time, and realized I needed to run, and so I walked expeditiously back to the first pond for just one more quick look before heading home. The rain had picked up a tiny bit, and I was photographing the ripples of the circles on the surface, as I do. I find the patterns very soothing, and the standing there watching to be a very zen experience, full of peace.

So here is my picture for the day, the place where I began and ended my adventure in the Barrens. This is the first pond that I love best. The yellow-white blob, by the way, is amphibian eggs. And there are LOTS of them here, which is very good news.

The pond can be so calm and so still at times, and its waters reflect a world at rest. Just a simple world of trees and light. And then come the droplets, or a fresh breeze, to set it all in motion. Ahh, there now. That is peace. Soon, I'll have to run home. But for now, would you just stand for a minute or two beside me on these banks, and watch the show with me?

Here is the soundtrack song that came to mind: John Lennon, with Watching the Wheels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.