South of the Arctic circle

The Hurtigruten expedition leaders have kept us entertained in many different ways during this wonderful voyage. Lots have been interesting and informative, some have been a bit of fun, and participation in everything has been voluntary. So why did I join the line this morning to be given a spoonful of disgusting cod liver oil to celebrate crossing the Arctic circle again? My reward was the spoon which is engraved with the names and symbols for the extremes I have reached on this voyage: Kirkenes, North Cape, the Arctic circle and Bergen, our start and end point.

My main photo will probably be my last mountain photo for this journey and it shows the Seven Sisters of Helgeland with their heads slightly veiled by cloud.

After lunch we went ashore to have a look at the small coastal town of Bronnoysund whose narrow harbour contained boats in a variety of sizes (first extra). Interestingly,  Bronnoysund is situated at the halfway point of the whole length of Norway.

As we sailed steadily southward, we passed Torghatten, one of Norway’s best-known natural phenomena, the hole in the mountain. (Second extra) 

Tonight, I am going to be rocked to sleep by the waves on the last long stretch of open sea (Folda) before we dock in Bergen on Wednesday.

Thank you so much for all the lovely comments, stars and hearts that I have received from those who have been following my wonderful journey, or perhaps have just stopped by for one or two days. 

After posting yesterday’s blip, as we sailed south away from Lofoten, I had the good fortune to experience a beautiful display of the Aurora Borealis between 11.00pm and midnight so I just had to add a photograph of this to my extras. So, if you checked my blip earlier in the evening, you might like to go back again to view this added extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.