The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Prime canalside property, in need of renovation

Work wasn't busy today, so I slipped out in time to catch the 1.30 bus to Nailsworth, where I was seeing a massage client. I thought I'd have time to blip the street life of this little market town, before I caught the bus back afterwards, but I was in a rush, having over-run. On the bus, some teenagers from Ruskin Mill College were discussing music.

"Classical's like, Mozart, and Classic is AC/DC and Coldplay".

Good! So now we know.

Once back in Stroud, the afternoon having turned warm and sunny, I decided to walk along the canal towpath as far as the restored or replacement path goes, which is currently Waitrose! The work is a few months behind schedule because of the scale of the excavation required (the A419 Stroud bypass was built over the canal bed in the 1980s, because there was no thought then of ever restoring the canal) and the weather we've been having. By the Lock Keeper's cafe at the town end, I took pictures of mallards grooming, and some pro-badger graffitti. But these buildings interest me most, being such a mix of dilapidation and designer living. The tall building behind is the Hill Paul building, a former clothing factory saved from the wrecking ball by activists in 2000, and now converted into flats. I've written about it here. The red brick building to the right has also been converted into many 'homes' and the stone one in front represents a rare development opportunity...

I wish I had got the canal itself in shot, but I can always return! Also, the sky's not as blue as I would wish it to be. It truly was truly hot weather out, and when I got to the end of the road/towpath, I decided to get a 'free' cup of tea in Waitrose. I bumped into some friends outside, and we took tea together, while discussing going to Bristol this Saturday for the Bristol Artists' Books event. Here's hoping it will happen!

Haven't written my poem for the day yet for National Poetry Writing Month. I'm feeling very laid back about everything today. Had better enjoy the feeling while it lasts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.