Biblical

Biblical is how someone described the weather during the Tour O the Borders Sportive. On the way down to Peebles it was seriously pishing down. And the wind was up.

This is a group setting off at 8, We set off at 9am, and the rain seemed to get heavier, I kept thinking about Rule #5, You know the one that says 'Just hard the fuck up'. Anyway, Nick called a halt to his climb at 11 miles, I continued on till 19miles. Riding straight into the rain and gusting wind gets that wee bit just to the inside above my knee and I was starting to cramp. The wind that was knocking people off bikes. The roads were getting deeper with water as the morning went on.
I think if there had been someone to ride with I may have made it but the weather had largely destroyed any riding group.

The food at the end was great, and I still laughed about it, and even though I packed it in at 19miles, I thoroughly enjoyed it. There is something incredibly life-affirming being out and battling against that kind of treatment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.