Monte Lake and Beyond

It's a beautiful
day to enjoy and I need
to put some miles on...

I was up enjoying my coffee before 7. I'd missed the official sunrise but I could see I'd have a lovely day to enjoy.

I left the city limits in my little red bomber about 9 AM. I wanted a long drive so I could be sure to charge up my hybrid that's been sitting for too long in the garage over winter. I thought I could drive over to Armstrong to get some asparagus from the farm there. I stopped along Monte Lake to have a look at all the devastation of last year's wild fire there. Some housing beside the lake had been destroyed. The fire came right down to the lake in several spots. People are still busy clearing up the tangles of metal and burnt lumber. New construction is beginning. It's the year following a fire when you can see how far it stretched and what has been lost. There are trees that have survived and there are many that are black. I wondered if the burnt trees would be logged. 

I drove on to Armstrong to discover the farm store was closed. I missed out on asparagus today. I did manage to catch a beautiful cock pheasant in the undergrowth near the farm. It wasn't until he turned away and disappeared that I noticed that the hen was with him. I missed her entirely!

Since I was so close to the town of Armstrong I just could not pass on the quilt store. It's always a pleasure to drop in there. Of course, I found some lovely pieces of quilting fabric to bring home. I had a quick lunch and started for home. 

I drove home on the Salmon River Road, always a favourite. I stopped along the way to get some shots of the wild flowers in the trees. The yellow is something from the buttercup family. I don't know what the white ones are. I must consult my reference book. 

I was home for 2 PM. The garage sale is still going on next door. I hope this is it for the weekend.

I'm home for the day and working on my quilted hearts and crumb blocks. 

We have a lovely day with sun and cloud and a high of 11 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.