Back Wynd

I find it quite difficult to keep up to date when I am travelling around. Must try to do better.

This is another of the old historical roads of Aberdeen. It runs along the west side of the St Nicholas Kirk and used to go down to The Green. It dates from about 1590, and when permits were given to construct properties along Back Wynd it represents an early example of town planning in Aberdeen. The construction of Union Street severed the link to The Green, and now a flight of steps leads down from Union Street to the Green. The building of Union Street substantially impacted the streets of the old burgh, and transformed the orientation of the city centre, giving it an East West orientation.

It is a pity the appearance of what is quite an elegant street is rather spoilt by the rather tasteless signage on some of the shops. I opted to go for a sepia look partly to lessen the impact of the colour of the shop signes.

Although it is not so long since Saturday, as I write this it does seem a long while ago. I was on my way to the reopened Jessops and Union Square. It is good to have a photographic shop back in the city. Long may it last. I will have to make a conscious effort to use Jessops as opposed to the online retailers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.