Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Susan Gilmore

It was named after the 'Susan Gilmore' an American clipper carrying cargo and 14 souls wrecked there in July 1884.

You have to be keen to get to this beach. It used to be a nudist beach but I am not sure it is now. Access is generally at low tide or clambering up and down the cliff face behind me. I couldn't see a good path up the cliff this morning otherwise I would have taken it rather than go back the way I came from Bar Beach and wade through knee deep water again. Anyhoo, when I woke at 5 am I saw patchy cloud and some stars so I tried for a sunrise. Well by the time I got to the beach a storm had blown in from the south and there was no chance of a sunrise. Just grey skies and a moderately irritated sea. Appropriate I suppose to have something a little sombre on such a day when there is senseless violence in Boston. Just watching it on the news now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.