A walk round the block

It's been a quiet but pleasant day with plenty of sunshine. I've not had much energy to spare but I managed a short walk round the block with my son, who also has CFS.

I got out my clarinets to do some playing around with them: my old Bb still smells of sulphur where it's disintegrating slowly. The smell starts as a faint whiff but it gets in your mouth when you're playing. I really should bin it.

My little C clarinet is playing well. It gets neglected but it's so useful for playing anything written for a C instrument or a voice. 

Then for my current Bb clarinet I tried using my Vandoren mouthpiece again. I like the sound better than with the mouthpiece that came with the horn, but it's easier to make it squeak or get a nasty vibrato sound. I'm going to see if I can master it for the sake of the better tone.

Meanwhile, my husband Neil took part in a mixed doubles tennis tournament at his tennis club - and his partner and he won! No one was more surprised than him, and he is now completely exhausted.

Being retired does seem to suit him though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.