Sunday Pursuits

We took a ride to Fort Fisher today - From the Website:  
"Until the last few months of the Civil War, Fort Fisher kept North Carolina's port of Wilmington open to blockade-runners supplying necessary goods to Confederate armies inland. By 1865, the supply line through Wilmington was the last remaining supply route open to Robert E. Lee's Army of Northern Virginia. When Ft. Fisher fell after a massive Federal amphibious assault on January 15, 1865, its defeat helped seal the fate of the Confederacy."
The day was picture perfect, 75F at the coast and crystal clear.  The sun was warm and there was a good breeze.  Continuing to make small gardens and plant seeds for some color, but going at a very slow pace and taking time to enjoy the work.  One more in Extra.  I love these black-faced seagulls.

And I'm just told that I've posted my 3,000 entry! Amazing.  What a wonderful journey it's been.  Thank you to all the followers for all the stars and hearts and wonderful meaningful comments over the last 8 years.  I don't always post every day, but I do think of Blip and all the Blip friends I've met along the way every day.  Being a member of this community definitely worked to do what I hoped it would on day #1.  Thank you all so much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.