Dead boats, dead trees and calligraphy

An amazing day yesterday, it all began with fairly flat lighting and despite our efforts tp capture a lone tree (the one that appeared in Iains print show of the previous evening) we quickly gave up and tuned instead to rusty crash-barriers.  It was the calligraphic white forma that grabbed my attention.  We then moved on to an area of dead trees at the side of the loch before driving a little further to where the boats were beached (we'd tried the coffee places in Salim  first, but both were closed it being Monday.
Thise of us who had brought some lunch ate it at the boats, while a small group went off to the Spa shop.  This gave me chance to go for a full-on `dead boat essay' which will doubtless take hours to sort and sift and edit.  I think in total I have 234 images from yesterday and I've probably deleted one or two.  We moved on tp the old jetty, which had great potential for a long exposure shot that would soften the clouds and the sea and I think those with tripods had a go, but my tripod was back at the house in my car and anyway I was photographed out by this time and had a rest in Iains car.  We retraced our morning drive into fairly flat light again, but investigated a tea/coffee/distillary sign on the way and discovered a delightful garden and shop with lots of varieties of gin (for those who like it) and tea and coffee and cake - we'll return!

Our route took us around Loch Scridain and across the Ardmeanach peninsula until we reached Loch na Keal and then on to Salen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.