Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Boston Tea Party

Late last night I worked the inaugural flight from Boston to London. There were celebrations in the departure gate - balloons, snacks, ‘afternoon tea’ (at 10pm!) and speeches, little gifts for the passengers, many of whom had no idea they were booked on an inaugural flight! We were full - but with such a late departure - 11pm - most of the passengers chose to sleep rather than take part in the whole dinner service. So the meal service was easy. The hard part was staying awake all night on a 7-hour flight with no break! Lots of cups of tea were consumed!

Thankfully it was a sunny morning when we arrived at Heathrow because there were more photo opportunities. Inaugurals are a big deal in the aviation world! It was kind of fun - I’ve only done a couple of them in my 37-year career. But I was very glad when it was over and I was able to get home and crawl into my bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.