Me, Myself and Catherine

By cspeakman

A Question of Respect

The Union Flag flies at half mast today on the day of Margaret Thatchers funeral. My views, politically are not as strong as those of others, though certainly I do hold views. My life perhaps, has been affected less than some others as result of the decisions made by the Late Baroness Thatcher, when she was Prime Minister. That is not to me however all that relevant. I have felt a revulsion to the comments and crowing of some people, in the news, on my facebook feed, from twitter... This was a human being, a mother, a daughter. She has family and friends left who are grieving. I imagine if this was my mother, or my daughter, or my friend. I don't imagine for one moment she would have been surprised as someone never to shy from confrontation. It is also very easy to comment as a by-stander. I for one would not wish to take on the job of PM, and neither would the vast majority of people showing such inhuman glorying in anothers death. Frankly, it is unlikely that a single one of them would have had the ability to lead the country or have even an inkling of what this would require. Still, I digress, this is not my point. I suppose my revulsion stems from the fact that to me, this celebratory behaviour reflects far more badly on the people carrying it out than on the woman they are denegrating. To those people I say, of course protest if you wish, I am not saying one has to like the woman. I am not saying I did. But without a fundamental respect for human life where are we? What are we? Do not look to others as a scape goat for your actions - we alone are responsible for our behaviour and the consequences to society which arise from it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.