Exposed from above

This is a series of rock formations, exposed inclines (anticlines?) which extend under the sea in the picturesque bay.  I won't write which bay as I'm not supposed to have flown my drone – a prohibition which I had not noticed on approaching the area, but which was pointed out to me by a passing local.  A non-drone shot is an Extra, showing the inclined rock layer which extends from the cliff into the bay.  It seems to break into these almost definite shapes as the blue lias underlying the harder layers is eroded or washed away.

The rock is interspersed with shale which was once used for gas production (and which apparently fuelled the street lights of Paris).  But it also contains millions of fossils which are progressively exposed by erosion of the softer mud between the strata.

My younger son told us last night that he has jumped to the red dot: he has a Leica Q2.  Unfortunately, all the justifications for doing so sounded quite familiar to his mother – she has heard them from me, although I'm a reformed person who doesn't just buy stuff.  His purchase means that at last I'll be able to fiddle with a Leica ...

In other news, I've been blocked again by Wikipedia from editing pages.  I correct errors of grammar and vocabulary as well as flying and spatial disorientation but I can't at present.  I found "infringed on" on a page but was brought up short; apparently I've been identified by an auto-blocker as a web server.  I've appealed.  Again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.