DIDN’T WE HAVE A LOVELY DAY…

…the day we went to Appleton Wiske!

When I woke this morning, the sun was streaming in through my bedroom window, so I guessed it was going to be a good day weatherwise.  I Whatsapped Mr. HCB to see what the weather was like down south and he said it was still cloudy but a few minutes later, he sent me a message to say the sun had come out.  I was really pleased because it can’t be comfortable sitting watching a cricket match all day dressed in winter gear!

Sue’s friend, Marjorie, was coming over from Newton Aycliffe to take us out for the day, so we were ready and waiting, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, when she arrived.

We went to Darlington first because Sue had some business to do there but once that was completed we went to a lovely garden centre and had lunch before having a wander around.  It is quite difficult for Sue as her knee is very painful, but she managed well and enjoyed being out and about.  Sadly both Marjorie and I have suffered from being too close to the oil seed rape fields and there were many of them - so I am sneezing well and my ears and throat are also suffering.

It was the first time I had met Marjorie, but we got on like a house on fire and it was as if we had known each other forever.  We had a great time together, and having gone through this little village called Appleton Wiske, on our way to the garden centre, I asked Marjorie if she would mind stopping so that I could take a photograph of the sign.  Of course, I had already explained about Blip, but she already knew what a great time we had had yesterday because Christine’s husband had rung her in the evening to tell her what a great time Christine and Barbara had had chatting with us at Betty’s.

I wanted to find out more about the name of this lovely little village, so asked Mr. Google, who told me:

“Appleton Wiske is a small village and parish in the North Riding of Yorkshire, sitting between Northallerton and Yarm. The village, which was known as Apletona in the Domesday Book, eventually took the name of the nearby River Wiske to distinguish itself from other Appletons in the area, such as Appleton-le-Moors. The river does not actually run through the village itself, passing about half a mile to the south on its meandering journey to the larger River Swale.”

After we got home to Sue’s, Marjorie came in for a cuppa and we raided the “naughty tin” wherein are various chocolates and other goodies - Marjorie confessed that she, too, is a chocoholic, so I know we will get on very well!  Sue, on the other hand, is not a chocolate lover, so all the more for Marjorie and me!

All in all a lovely day - all that remains now is to make sure that the Silly Saturday Gang members who have come with me are well rested and ready for tomorrow - when there is work to be done!  Watch this space.

“The great thing about new friends 
     is that they bring new energy to your soul.” 
Shanna Rodriguez

P.S.  Just in case you thought I was joking about making an archway for Barbara as she came out of the loo, I have put a shot in as an extra that Christine, her daughter, sent to me last night by email.  So good of her.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.