Well

‘Did I see you checking the geothermal wells yesterday?’

I was asked this by a random guy in the breakfast area, and confirmed I hadn’t been checking any geothermal wells.

‘That was your brother.’

The workshop continued apace and it was around 7.30pm that a few stragglers were left in the meeting room. Praxides, who is one of the facilitators, exclaimed that the master file had been deleted whilst she was attempting something. It did appear to be the case when I investigated, and she asked for my help to revert, even though I did not know what I was doing. I do know that Google Documents is treacherous with a patchy connection and multiple users. She went to the bathroom and it had miraculously restored when she came back. I don’t know how, but the Google gods were smiling down. The company is so ubiquitous that they probably were in fact watching via nanochips remotely inserted into our pupils and in every device we own.

After this panic and ensuing relief, the only activity remaining was for me to visit the nearby petrol station and buy snacks. I found some Watermelon and Strawberry Tango, a flavour I did not know existed. Every day is a school day.

Lake Naivasha remains a fertile fishing ground despite the pressures facing it. Nearby to the hotel these women were selling fish and trying to persuade me to let them fry some up so I could take a walk and return to eat the fare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.