Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Rosa Marie

Today was the funeral for a sweet, old friend. It was her time. She passed away in February.

Rosa had Alzheimer's and was in a care facility. A friend who attended the funeral told me that the last time she saw Rosa, she spoke only Spanish.  Her family lived in Mexico City. After marrying her American husband, she emigrated to Canada then to Georgia before retiring here. She always spoke English but the disease can take you back to your youthful memories...which were all in Spanish. She was 82.


Photo circa 2015
After the death of her husband (and her dog), I would have her over for coffee and we'd sit on the patio and watch the hummingbirds. This was one of those days

After the funeral, I took a ride to Madera Canyon to say a quiet prayer where I spread my mother's ashes.

Not a sad day. More of a pensive one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.