Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A visit to Belsay Hall and Gardens

We checked the forecast carefully and decided that the plan to go to Belsay straight after breakfast was a good one. We were there for opening at 10 and Freda enjoyed the car journey through unfamiliar country roads.

I used to visit Belsay quite often when I lived in Newcastle, but it's a long time since I have been there. The gardens are as glorious as ever. We enjoyed every minute of our exploration.

Here is bird cherry*. I have been waiting all week to find a suitable bush to photograph. The blossoms are so very pretty. On one of the festival walks I was told that the Swedish have a favourite season. It is Mellan hägg och syren and is the time between the bird cherry and the lilac coming into bloom.

This is a wonderful time of year. We saw lots of cultivated plants, the ferns in the quarry garden and lots of wildflowers and Spring bulbs.

We recovered from all the excitement with a coffee in the Blacksmiths. It is just as good as it used to be.

My extra is a quiet, rather unassuming corner, in the Quarry Garden. There were plenty of showy rhododendrons, but I liked the colour combinations and textures here.

PS This * is a prunus but not bird cherry. The error was spotted by Margret (next door) so thanks to her. I was so keen to tell you about the Swedish season of Mellan hägg och syren  that I got it wrong!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.