The Big Spring Run, Bellefonte

I had an appointment in Bellefonte late Wednesday morning, and I had a few minutes to spare afterwards, so I allowed myself two treats: a short visit to Talleyrand Park to take some photos along the Big Spring run, and a quick stop at Bonfatto's for a pair of hoagies - tuna for me, original Italian for the husband (mine to be consumed immediately; his, packed to travel, as he would not be eating it till I brought it home after work).

It was a picture-perfect spring day at Talleyrand Park! The weeping willows were wearing a color of green so bright that it barely looked real. All shades of yellow daffodils were in bloom everywhere. Many ducks and geese were hanging out by the water. Only a few of us apparently received the memo about what a gorgeous day it was going to shape up to be, so there were only a few people at the park. A bonus for me, the photographer!

I walked all along the Big Spring run, taking pictures. Some of them (but not this one) had the historic Match Factory in the background. The Match Factory was one of the largest producers of wooden matches during World War II. According to the Bellefonte Historical Association, the Match Factory "closed in 1947 due to competition from book matches and cigarette lighters." (Sidebar: every time I think of the Match Factory, I am reminded of the story of The Little Match Girl, by Hans Christian Andersen.)

I spotted my first snake of the year near the place where I stood to take this picture: a medium-sized water snake, napping in the sun. I only saw it in a flash, as it scrambled down off its napping rock and into the water, much too quick for me to capture it with my camera. (Dagnabbit! A missed shot. Yes, I adore snakes. No, I hardly ever get to see them.)

I checked my blip records (yes, I keep a spreadsheet!) and oddly enough, I have only posted a Bellefonte blip one time before: a picture of the bridge across the Big Spring run at Talleyrand, taken in late March of last year. I noted in looking back at it that we are running a few weeks behind this year on all the usual accoutrements of spring: the green trees, the flowering plants. It was a long winter but spring is here at last! Hooray!

One of the things that we take for granted in Pennsylvania is our access to fresh, cold, good-tasting water that bubbles right up out of the ground fit to drink. The Big Spring in Bellefonte produces 15 million - yes, million - gallons of natural ground water per day and is the main source of water for the local community. In honor of the cool, clear water, the song to accompany this picture is The Sons of the Pioneers, with Cool Water.

P.S. In an effort to get caught up on blips, I'm posting two blips today: Tuesday's and Wednesday's. Be sure to check them both out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.