horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

Movie Reference 22/31

This is the sequel: One Sat Over the Blue Tit's Nest

He's trouble is this one. When the nestbox goes back up next year I'm going to have to put a metal guard around the entrance so that he can't scratch it any more. He's just doing what's natural, and we both like animals so don't mind the cats and whatever else that come through the garden (even the foxes, knowing they can't get into the chicken run), but I had to chase him off there. Poking with a stick didn't work, but fetching our cat and holding him underneath the tree to hiss at the Kitten worked.

Managed to get myself out of bed at 7am as planned (I do most days, to let the chickens into their run and feed the cat - he's got diabetes so needs fairly regular feed times) and hopped on the bike for a 20-mile loosener. Not a massive distance, but I need to start getting the miles in for the big sportive in September (last year my training consisted of my commute, and while I finished, it hurt. A lot). It was nice to get out in the sun, and I love these early rides with the roads almost to yourself.

It was a route with only one real hill planned, up and over Drumbrae,and I don't think that's even a mile long. Of course, being Edinburgh there wee plenty of little hills around, but this was the only one of consequence. Nice spin on the new wheel that had arrived for my birthday as well (yes, I know, it's not exciting for most people, but it pleased me). I just need to keep this habit up now, as well as gradually upping the miles and making sure I get a couple of half-ton rides a month in, as well as the occasional 100 miler).

And then I painted the back wall of the house.

I'm now officially knackered, with my shoulder still sore from popping it almost two weeks ago, but happy with the day's efforts.

The other Kitten Birdhouse shot contemplated

Back blip of yesterday's Star Trek outing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.