Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Another watery one

.. though not taken on the Nuns' Stream like yesterday's, but over the south side of town in Clausentum Fen.  The Fen is a very small SINC (Site of Importance for Nature Conservation), enormously rich in plant life.  Approx 50% of the area is under water - and that's where I found this one single head of what I now know is Bogbean (Menyanthes trifoliata).  It fulfills one of the targets I set myself for this year's WFW, which was to blip at least one wildflower I'd never seen before (or don't remember seeing before ;))

The dark brown background is some of the Fen's very murky water.  I did think about taking out the lighter flecks in the background, and in fact did try this, but in the end I prefer it in its original form.  The whole body of water is filled with last year's bullrushes, currently exploding their fluffy seeds everywhere.  Both the air and the water are full of them and I liked celebrating this crossover moment between the two plants.

Right, that's me.  But before I go I do have to say  HUGE thank you for your lovely response to yesterday's.  I thought it might be just me going awwww to the ducklings but it seems many of you are as soppy as I am ;)))  Thank you!

And have a lovely Monday evening/Tuesday morning xx

PS: Wildflower people - don't forget we're now onto #WFW22_06 until midnight Saturday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.