This is the day

By wrencottage

The first rose of summer

The rose lover in me was delighted to spy the first rose bloom in our garden as we left the house for our walk this morning. There was no sign of it yesterday! Be warned that roses will feature prominently in my journal from now on. I’ve even taken a photo once on Christmas Day, standing on the pavement outside our house, of our Christmas wreath on the front door. In the foreground was a beautiful pink rose!


"Oh dear! Is summer over?"
I heard a rosebud moan,
When first her eyes she opened,
And found she was alone.

"Oh why did summer leave me,
Little me, belated?
Where are the other roses?
I think they might have waited."

Soon the little rosebud
Saw to her surprise
Other rosebuds opening,
So she dried her eyes.

Then I heard her laughing
Gaily in the sun,
"I thought summer was over:
Why, it’s just begun!"

The First Rose of Summer by Oliver Herford (1863-1935)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.