Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

Der Weg hinauf und hinab ist ein und derselbe.

The way up and the way down are one and the same. - and I'm not going to argue with Heraclitus of Ephesus about that, he's probably the smarter man.

Work was pretty much like every day, with the exception that I was rather alone in the office today due to the others either being on vacation or on business trips. So nobody was bothering me much, besides that goddamn telephone.

So after work I picked up my bike at Candidplatz underground station (where I had to leave it on Tuesday as a suprising downpour had caught me) to ride to the city center to get new shoes and shorts. Being a man I only needed less than half an hour to get two pairs of the former and one pair of the latter.

Well, I was actually kind of in a hurry because I was supposed to meet Laura at the LMU to have a beer or two in Munich's urban park Englischer Garten. I have taken some more wonderful portraits of Laura - I won't upload those, though. On the one hand I just blipped her on Saturday, and on the other hand I don't think she wanted me to. We talked about university and her courses and she came up with the above quote of Heraclitus, which we agreed pretty much fitted on both of us. After we parted (because Laura had to clean her flat for her Welcome-back party on Saturday) I was thinking about having a little bike&photo ride across the city. But just when I was about to start, Phil called me to have a few more beers and chess games on the Isar banks. As he is one of my best friends and the Isar banks are one of the best spots to hang out on a warm and lazy afternoon anyway, I readily agreed. To take the beers with me, I had to leave my camera at home, though. Which I very soon highly regreted: there was that girl playing with two beautiful swans in the shallow water with a fiery red sunset in the background - an almost perfect scene.

After that I was pretty knackered. But it seems it still wasn't enough: on my way home Julia, another of my closest friends called me to come to Café Kosmos, my favourite bar in Munich, to meet with her, Lena, Alex and Alex. Couldn't say no, could I? First thing after arriving at the place I got myself a Liquid Cocaine (which is a drink made of a double vodka, a double espresso and some vanilla something) to wake me up again. A few drinks here were followed by a few more in X-Cess and some dancing there, to end up at around 4 o'clock at Alex's place for a last beer and some food (we basically emptied his refrigerator). I'm so gonna regret this tomorrow at work!

So the photo I picked pictures the finally arriving spring pretty much I hope: riding bikes, playing frisbee, green gras, drinking beer in the open, and pretty girls wearing short skirts. By the way, the structure in the center is the Monopteros in Englischer Garten, a replica of a Ancient Greek temple, that was built in 1836.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.