A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Matilda in Brompton

I took Matilda out to visit a friend in Brompton just north of Northallerton. Brompton was once an important linen weaving village in the area, today it is at risk of becoming a suburb of Northallerton with just one farmers field separating them. 

I stopped by Water End Green to get this Blip and hadn't noticed the seat/memorial before. I asked my friend, a local Parish councillor, what it was and he told me it is a memorial to all the past linen workers who had worked in the village. The bricks came from a linen factory chimney when it was demolished and he helped build it in the same footprint pattern as the chimney. The stone has an engraving which can be seen on their heritage website

I have Blipped Matilda on the Green before. The Brompton Beck runs through it and there is a ford where you can see the white footbridge. My visit was productive and everything is ready for our trip away in Matilda next week. More about that as it happens... ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.