Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Road Trip: 17th and final day

We're home, and I'm glad to see we have flowers; indeed, one or two look as though they might have been and gone while we were away.  But it looks like everything is alive which is a bonus, considering that whilst we experienced some torrential rain while away we understand it's been as dry as a bone here.

I was glad to leave W's sister's house not because of her, but because she has two cats and I am mildly allergic to them so by this morning I was itching all over.   They are cute enough but they didn't particularly endear themselves to me this morning when one of them disgorged the entire contents of its stomach onto the floor while I had my first coffee of the day and the other inspected it.  The journey back took around five hours with stops and was fine apart from a half hour queue leading up to road works at Sutton Bridge.  As we got to the front of the queue I had a battle of horns with a scruffy looking truck whose driver thought he could bypass all the waiting traffic and cut in in front of me.  I won, but I suspect that the learner driver in the car in front of him (legitimately, having turned on from a different road so I would have let him in) had a memorable lesson.  The next ten miles, however, felt a bit like a scene from Steven Spielbergs first film, Duel.

The weekend will involve shopping and washing and getting back to normal.  It's been a great trip and we've thoroughly enjoyed it but it's good to be back home again.  And for anyone interested, in total we drove 1,957.1 miles and were in the car driving for 51 hours, 46 minutes, 23 seconds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.