Eastern Grey Butcherbird

This is officially an "Eastern Grey Butcherbird" today, but regular readers of my journal will recognise him as my old mate "Butchie" who visits my garden several times each day for snacks of mince.

The reason I am getting all technical today is that I looked on BlipBigYear, only to find that he isn't there!

Who would have thought?!!

Is he that "common" a bird that he has been overlooked? He shouldn't be, as he is a lovely little fellow, never buts in when the other birds are eating, has never attcked any of the other birds in the garden and sings the prettiest of songs. I often hear him off in the distance, chortling away.

Only yesterday, when I was making lunch in the kitchen, I could hear these cute little cooing sounds and thought it was my Indian Ring Necked Parrot, Charlie, who often coos away to himself, but it wasn't Charlie. It was little Butchie, munching away on his mince, making his happy little sounds.

He certainly deserves a place in BlipBigYear. :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.